In Concert: Sonic Seasonings with FLOW and Friends

Sonic Seasonings with FLOW and Friends.

Flow-Lawrence Blatt, WIll Ackerman, Fiona Joy, Jeff OsterOn a new Echoes Sonic Seasonings, we bring you FLOW and Friends. FLOW is the instrumental supergroup with pianist Fiona Joy Hawkins, guitarist Lawrence Blatt, trumpeter Jeff Oster and guitarist Will Ackerman, the founder of Windham Hill Records. With a coterie of friends, they get together in new configurations to reinvent the sound of Christmas.

Fiona Joy Hawkins and Rebecca DanielWe’ll hear Fiona Joy Hawkins joined by violinist Rebecca Daniel. The two musicians released a beautiful album of free-flowing neo-classical music exploring sorrow and loss called The Lightness of Dark. They are joined by percussionist Jeff Haynes and Jeff Oster on flugelhorn. They deconstruct a set of familiar seasonal songs into refracted variations as if spun through a prism.

The trio Departure, is an as-yet unrecorded trio, featuring with three musicians who have their own discographies and credits. They include trumpeter Jeff Oster from FLOW. He has several solo albums, including a couple of Echoes CD of the Month picks. His latest is called Reach. Bassist/keyboardist Tom Eaton is the producer and utility player of FLOW. Departure: Oster, Eaton, DownesHe also has several solo albums out of deep ambient music including his latest, How It Happened. Guitarist Vin Downes is also a solo artist with several solo albums out. His latest is When the Sea Lets Go. They send carols into an ambient space where Miles Davis meets Pink Floyd on the moons of Jupiter.

Finally, guitarist Will Ackerman teams up with guitarist Vin Downes for a unique take on a lesser-known seasonal song. Ackerman is a veteran of Echoes Sonic Seasonings shows and his Winter Solstice collections on Windham Hill were an inspiration for all Echoes seasonal programming.


FLOW and friends turn Christmas into an intimately chilled and musically adventurous mood live on Echoes Sonic Seasonings.
Echoes Sonic Seasonings 2019
Start Time Group Name Song Name Album Name
0:00:00 Sonic Seasonings – In Concert: Fiona Joy Hawkins and Rebeca Daniel
0:02:18 Fiona Joy Hawkins Jingle Bells (live) Christmas Joy
0:07:16 Fiona Joy Hawkins & Rebecca Daniel Sugarplum Ghost (live) Lightness of Dark
0:11:37 Fiona Joy Hawkins Away in a Manger (live) (unreleased)
0:15:45 Fiona Joy Hawkins Christmas Joy Christmas Joy
0:20:08 Will Ackerman & Vin Downes What Strangers are These (live) Four Guitars
0:23:30 Sonic Seasonings – In Concert: Departure
0:25:33 Departure Come All Ye Faithful (live) unreleased
0:32:00 Departure Silent Night (live) unreleased
0:37:03 Departure Little Drummer Boy (live) unreleased
Fiona Joy Hawkins & Rebecca DanielThe Lightness of Dark
Jeff OsterReach
Lawrence BlattLongitudes and Latitudes
Will AckermanWas It This Lifetime
Tom EatonHow It Happened
Vin DownesWhen the Sea Lets Go


As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.